This morning on the way to work, the traffic was stop and go. I was stopped right past an intersection. When I looked in my rear-view mirror, I thought the gal coming up behind me was going to hit me but she stopped in time. I was relieved. Just a moment later, I  heard a loud crash. I looked up again and saw car parts flying. I saw the car behind me get hit. The car behind her went up pretty high. I thought she was going to be pushed into me. While this was happening, the cars in front of me moved so for a brief split second, I considered going on to work but I just couldn’t do that. If  there had been injuries, I never would have been able to live with myself so instead, I picked up my phone. I called 911 and got out of my car. There were three cars in the accident. Two of the drivers got out of their cars immediately so I checked on the other one, the gal behind me. She was not injured but she was very shaken up. She had her sixteen month old baby in the back seat. He was perfectly fine. He was very happy and playing in his car seat. I quickly checked on everyone else then went back to her. I tried to calm her down and stayed until the police and fire department showed up.

Things could have been much worse. I am sure two of the cars were totaled. The driver that caused the accident was driving  a dealer car from her work. The other was a young man that had never been in an accident before. The gal’s car behind me was the only one that was drive-able after the accident. I am so glad that I didn’t have to use any of my first aid training besides calming them down and making sure the scene was secured and safe. We were lucky that there was a tow truck driver right behind them. He blocked the traffic with his truck so none of us had to direct traffic. I did let the one gal know how to reach me in case she needs to.

All this reminded me that we need to never take things for granted and how things can change in an instant. I was very lucky that she wasn’t pushed into me. Everyone was lucky that they weren’t hurt.

