2014, My second Comic Con. When I went to the first one, I really didn’t want to go but took my kids. This one, I was actually pretty excited. I was excited about celebrities that were coming. I was looking forward to dressing up. I have always loved Halloween. As I got older, I found that I loved theater and then in this town I live in, we have another annual event where people dress in costumes. I had two costumes planned for this Comic Con. One was a Steampunk Costume and the other was Catwoman.

I used to look forward to watching the original Batman when I was a kid after school. I honestly don’t know if I ever watched it at home. I remember watching at a friends house regularly. I didn’t read comic books. My mother wouldn’t have thought they were appropriate. I ended up loving Batman and Robin and, of course, Cat Woman. She was such a fun character. At this Comic Con, it was an anniversary of the show and they had all three of the actors there-  Adam West, Burt Ward, and Julie Newmar. I thought that was pretty cool and decided to go to the panel and see what they had to say. I had very little money to spend at Con and it costs extra money to meet the actors usually and always if you want photos or autographs. At Denver Con, the money is actually a fundraiser for an education project but I am a poor single mom.I had no intention of meeting any of these three. That all changed during the panel. All three of them came out on the stage and Julie just exuded sex. I don’t know that I have ever been  in the physical presence of someone that SEXY and it was her 80th birthday and I am not attracted to women. After that panel, I HAD to meet that woman.

I was dressed as cat-woman, I was less than a year after my divorce and still not really mentally healthy. I waited in line having no idea what I would say to her but she made it so easy. She looked at me and said “Now, what do you do for a living?” I told her that I worked at a doctors office and she replied “With that body?” She had me walk for her and then had me come behind her table to get my picture taken with her. She was so good for my ego on that day. Here was this gorgeous woman that just exuded sex telling me that I looked awesome. After years of feeling ugly and like nothing, I had no idea how much I needed that. The picture does not show her personality. She was so amazing in person. I am so glad that I went up to meet her. IMG_7300-2085(rev 0).jpg

