I have not really been dating recently. I have been too busy and haven’t really wanted to make the time for any of the men that have entered my life. I have been talking to a few guys that I have met, mostly on the dating sites, but no one has really grabbed my interest. I think I realized why today.

I have met some decent men but I haven’t felt “the connection” with any of them. Not even R, who I adore, has what I need to think there could be a long term relationship with. I get criticized for being too picky. I have had men state that I should give religious men and conservatives a chance. I know that that wouldn’t work for me. I am too outspoken about my views and want to be able to talk to my partner about these things. We don’t have to agree on everything BUT we cannot be polar opposites, either. The biggest thing though, I think, holding me back is ex-bf though. No, I do not want him back. I am not in love with him anymore. I am very happy with him being my BFF and nothing else BUT we had so much fun together. Our first date was amazing. It was just dinner at a local restaurant but I never wanted it to end. I couldn’t wait to see him again. I have hardly had any other first dates or connections like that. After we started dating, we discovered how much we enjoyed together. Almost all the things that I LOVE to do, he enjoyed too. We hiked, rode our motorcycles, picnicked, skied, camped, kayaked, roller bladed, bowled, played games, and so much more. He made me laugh. He rarely angered me. I was comfortable just curling on the couch with him as well as being active with him. I completely trusted him (and still do). To top it off, our chemistry was AMAZING.

I keep meeting men that only have one or two interests in common. They are not into expanding their horizons. EX-bf and I were both willing to try new things with the other. The other men I meet seem to be stuck in their ways. I love to be active and do new things. I want a man that wants to live that way. I want a man that can make me laugh and feel safe with. I will keep looking but I will only make time for men that are worth it now.  A recent first date was nice but dull. I don’t want dull in my life. I have a right to be picky and I know that might mean that I will be alone longer or even forever, but it will be worth it if I find a compatible man.

