I never thought that watching someone else’s break-up would devastate me so personally but I was wrong. My best friend (ex-bf) and his new girlfriend broke up about ten days ago. I cried for two days. I am just absolutely heart- broken for him. He loves her so much. They were going to go back east to meet his family and she was in the process of moving in with him when she broke it off. He was stunned and I am struggling.

After a couple of days, I realized two things. I was heart-broken for him. I thought he had finally found what he was looking for.  He was so damn happy and I so wanted that for him. The second thing I realized was they gave me  hope. To have her walk away so suddenly when things were so good, makes me have less faith that I might find someone. I truly believe a lot of what happened to them was cold feet for her but he is so angry and hurt that he says he doesn’t want to try if she decided she wants to.

I do not understand. We are all in our fifties. She admits she loves him. He loves her. Why the hell are they both so damn stubborn and not willing to work through the issue. I am done crying over them and will be there for him so he won’t withdraw from the world. I sure wish they could work things out. I loved seeing him so happy. Now, I get to worry about him.

