After I became single again, I was quite surprised to have so many YOUNG men hit on me. At first I was pretty horrified as was my eldest daughter. We would go out and guys her age would hit on me. She did not understand and would be hurt. I came to the conclusion after several events that there were a few reasons. The first is that they knew that I wasn’t going to be looking for a  relationship with them and she might. Another reason was given to me by several men that I know and that is I have a confidence that she doesn’t have. At first, I was very resistant to any man more than a few years younger, though I am a young forty nine. No one ever believes that I am the age that I am. After dating or going out on quite a few dates in four years, I have realized that most men older than me are too old. I have been mostly dating men five to eight years younger. I did go out with one man about ten years younger and he was SO YOUNG but then went out with another guy the same age and it wasn’t an issue. Men, so often, date women much younger. Why is there a double standard for women. I like men. I am still attracted to young men and some are attracted to me. They  are always surprised when they find out I am almost fifty. I can keep up with them in activities. I am fit. I am not grey and have few wrinkles. I am aging well. I have had  many men around my age mention how much older they are than me. Is there really an issue for a woman to date a much younger man. If they are both consenting adults, why is there a double standard?

I am not really looking to get involved with someone much younger but am  wondering about this from others views. The young ones are fun to flirt with though, I do admit that.

