I have spoken about different types of men and the difficulties in dating them: Men that have had serial marriages and ones with young kids. Another one that actually terrifies me possibly more than the others is one that has never had a long term commitment. When I was on the dating sites, I realized that so many men had never had a relationship longer than a year or  two and  were in there forties. For me, I couldn’t help but wonder WHY they have never been committed to someone. Can they not make that step? Would a man like that be worth giving a try?

For me, everyone that I have met in this category seems unable  to  make the step. The latest is the glass cutter. We actually met on a dating site about three years ago. We talked about meeting and really hit it off. Next thing I knew, he was engaged to another woman and dropped me as a friend on Facebook. Several months ago, we finally met in person as we have mutual friends. He never married that other gal.

He is so much fun to be with. We enjoy each others company. We have not gone beyond friendship at all. We had lunch together a couple of  times and one date. He actually texted me and told me that he really liked me but got tongue tied with me and is intimidated of me. After spending some time together, he basically told me that it isn’t worth the risk of getting hurt. We have become good friends in the past few months and I enjoy his company but he has shown me that for at least him, I was accurate in my trepidation of trying to date a man that has never had a commitment.

