With my job, people always assume that I get yelled at all the time but I actually got yelled at more often sitting at the front desk of a doctor’s office. Today, I met my worst citizen so far on the streets. Most people are not happy when they get a ticket but also know that they deserve them. Most people will ask us to give them a break very nicely and some will actually come up, hold out their hand and actually say that they deserve it.  This guy today was awful. I wrote him a parking ticket for an expired registration. He came up as I was putting it on his car and asked what I was doing. I told him that I had just written him a ticket and what for. He immediately grabbed it out of my hand, threw it in his car and screamed that I wasn’t a Effin cop and I had no right to do that. We do it daily, per city council. He proceeded to drop the F-bomb to me over and over. If someone comes up and is nice, we will call in and ask if we can make it a warning. I was not about to do that since he was so hostile so I told him to have a nice day and continued on. A gentleman on the street was watching and listening. I could tell that he was horrified at what was happening. The guy continued to yell profanities at me until he couldn’t see me anymore. If I had ever felt threatened, I could have called the police for assistance. I called my supervisor and told her about him so she wouldn’t dismiss the ticket when he came in. It turned out that we booted his car a couple of months ago for several unpaid tickets for the same thing. We did have to call the police on him then. His file is not good with our department. I ran into the observing man a block later getting into his car and he asked if that was normal and how out of line the other guy was. It was nice to have someone tell me that but the jerk did not really bother me. I almost laughed at him as he was being so obnoxious. I also thought about telling him no thanks, you are not my type. Now, I look forward to giving him more tickets. He definitely did NOT intimidate me.

The photographer is a man that might find a place in my blog in the future. Who knows what the future holds but I met him at work, too. He had bought a parking pass but a mistake had been made and he was given the incorrect pass. Due to the mistake, he kept getting tickets. He would bring it in and it would get dismissed. He got several before it was discovered that he was given the wrong pass. Most people would have been angry at our department but he just laughed it off. When the mistake was realized, I was asked to go meet him and exchange the passes. He was so delightful. I apologized for the error and thanked him for his understanding. Since then, I have spoken to him occasionally. I stopped in to see him today as I was watching a car  in a loading zone. We have to watch for ten minutes to make sure there is no activity. I had the ticket all ready to print and I just had to wait my ten minutes. It was cold and it was right outside his store. I stepped in and told him what I was doing and how I was going to use his heat while I watched. We talked a bit and he proceeded to tell me that I am the ray of sunshine in his day every time he sees me. This affected my day more than the jerk did.

People like him and the observer are part of the reason that I love my job so much. The jerks are few and far between. Most people are awesome. Maybe it is where I live. Maybe it is because I smile and am nice to everyone. I don’t know why but it really doesn’t matter.

 

 

 

 

 

