I have always tried so hard to not let politics affect my friendships. I have always been able to agree to disagree. The only reason is was a factor in my  marriage is we didn’t talk about it at all and I wanted someone to talk to about it and share and debate with.  I am failing miserably with this now.

When Trump announced he was running, my first thought was that SNL was going to have a blast with it and that he would be gone pretty quickly. I had no idea that our election was going to turn into a reality TV show. I do not watch those shows because I hate all the back stabbing, conniving, and how people treat each other. I try to treat all people as they are human beings with good in them. I try to find the good in everyone. There is a reason all the street bums in my town talk to me and treat me well. I look them in the eye and treat them like they are people that matter. This election horrified me. The way that Trump would make fun of people and call people names. I couldn’t believe how he talked about women and various minority groups. These were behaviors that I would never tolerate in my children and would not be friends with someone that treats others like this. Now this horrible hateful human being is going to be the president of the United States.

I wish that I could just look at my friends that voted for him the same. So many Trump supporters are vilifying any of us that have protested his “winning”. They are acting like we are crybabies that cannot handle losing. They claim that he never did or said the things we all saw him say and do. They say that they didn’t protest Obama winning. I remember horrible things, including hanging and burning him in effigy.  I cannot help but put these friends in the bigot category now. Some I have known since I was a kid. It is so hard for me to hear them defend Trumps actions and words. I am losing friends and, to be honest, it doesn’t really bother me. I don’t want to be friends with people full of hate. The thing I do not understand is how blind they are to him and/or how willing they are to dismiss horrible actions and words from him. I truly believe anyone that defends him is not any better than the people doing acts of hate around this country. I have a friend that was harassed the day after the election and told that he was going to get a letter to have him build the wall. They quickly shut up and started apologizing when he told them he was Native American, not Mexican. This is unacceptable to anyone, even if he was Mexican. We are all HUMAN. I try not to judge but how do I get past this? I have two daughters, one of which is gender fluid and bisexual. I am a sexual assault survivor, as are so many women. I have a gay brother and brother in law. My brother is also an immigrant.I am an atheist as are two of my children. I have friends in almost every category that can be picked out and picked on. I cannot tolerate bigotry of any kind.

Is it possible for our country to get past all this hate and shameful behavior. I feel we are going back in time for civil rights. It shames and scares me. Registering Muslims? Really? How is this different than Hitler or what we did to the Japanese? Read what George Takei has written about his internment.  

I am a veteran and this is not what I swore to protect. This goes against everything I have been taught that America stands for. There will always be differences, that is okay, but hate is not. I just wish there was a way to mend things but I am not optimistic. I am scared for all of us and I guess I am sad to lose friends over this. I thought they were better than this. There is no way I could ever support someone like him no matter what it meant to me financially. The price is too high.

