I am a pretty liberal person. When I take the tests that tell you where you stand, I am always on the left but not to the extreme. I have realized that I am enough so that when in doubt, I vote Democrat. That is usually how I vote. I also am a very loving person. I truly do not care what someone’s race, religion, sexual orientation, etc is. If someone is good to me and mine, I am good to them. If they cross me or hurt my loved ones, I turn into a mama bear. I have a gay brother and brother in law. I have  a bisexual non-binary child. I would do anything for any of them. I have lots of friends of different cultures, religions, sexual orientations, etc. I love my friends. The last several months, I have listened to a certain orange faced creep talk hate. The bigots have come out of the woodwork. He makes fun of disabled people. He talks about groping women. He has been accused of many cases of sexual assault, including rape of a thirteen year old. She has dropped charges due to being threatened and is no longer around. My guess is she is hiding. He has encouraged people to hit and hurt people at his rallies. He has promoted hate every chance he could get and last night, the country that I swore to protect voted him as our next president. I am embarrassed. I am ashamed. I am shocked. I am scared. I am scared for so many. I am scared for LGBTQ rights, I am scared for women’s rights. Most of all, I am shocked at how so many of my friends support him so much. They honestly do not see that he spews HATE!! I don’t know how you can watch what has been going on the past few months and not see it. Are they blind? Are they ignorant? Are they only watching Faux News? Are they truly bigots and can’t see that in themselves? I don’t get it. Did they hate Hillary so much due to the Propaganda put out about her, most of which were false? Did they truly hate her because she is a WOMAN. I honestly feel that a lot of people just couldn’t accept a woman of any kind as our president, especially after a (gasp) black man. Two people that are not as equal to the wealthy white men of the world.

My eldest child is very politically active. She has campaigned in several elections starting when she was in high school. She is so aware of other people and equal rights. I spoke to her last night and she was hysterical. She was wondering how she could live in a country being led by such a bigot. Here I was, feeling the same way, trying to convince her that it would be okay. I spoke to my bi child this morning and she was so solemn. She is scared of her future and many of her friends. I actually ran into one o her friends today and gave her a hug, this girl that I hardly know just started crying in my arms telling me how scared she is to be a Hispanic bisexual woman now. I have heard stories already of racist things happening and the excuses being that it will be okay now and that things will change. I am afraid that his election is giving permission to all the HATE.

I woke this morning after just a couple of hours of sleep hoping that last night was just a nightmare but, alas, it was not. I felt like I was in shock for the first few hours. I received messaged from friends from Canada and Oz, telling me how sorry they were that things went the way they did. People would ask me how I was and for a change, I was not able to be cheerful. Eventually, someone started to turn my mood around. Some young guy with a dog started to change my mood. I started to pet the dog and the young man (zach) asked how I was. I said “Eh, could be better.” He said that he figures we all felt the same way. After a minute of talking, we ended up hugging. I mentioned that if I hadn’t been working today, I may have had a free hug sign. He mentioned that he had thought about doing that, too. We bonded over our misery and concern. After another hug, we parted ways. I hope I see this young man again. He helped me start to heal from my devastation of the election.

I am still shocked ad devastated by this election but will be okay and will publicly fight to make sure that my daughters do NOT lose their rights. I will actively FIGHT to protect people of other cultures, religions, races, etc. I think that this election may be the spark to get people like me to realize that we need to fight. Not in a violent way but with our pocket books, votes, campaigning and any other way we can without violence. We have to do this in the memory of MLK, MILK, and so many other activists in the past. We cannot let the hateful right wing Christian NUTS take us BACK in time and rights. We need to look to the future and make this country right again because after last night, we all see there is so much work to be done. We cannot sit complacently by like so many did in Germany. We are all human and we need to stick together.

 

