Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace ... One School at a Time
Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace … One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, this book was one that I would probably not have bought but someone left it in my break room and I picked it up. What this man did and is doing is amazing. This book makes you realize how important education is in fighting the terrorism.

No, the writing was not spectacular but the message was. I want to help him. As a military brat that grew up in the Philippines, I could relate to some of his stories about the poor villages and learning the cultures. I remember going places where no American had gone in ages. I remember my blond hair being pet by the locals. I remember the generosity of people that had so much less than we did. It seems that people are the same everywhere.

In this book, the people in Pakistan and later in Afghanistan, welcomed this man who wanted to help their children and overall their communities not just now but for generations to come. He sat amongst various people, Taliban, Shiites, etc. and discussed his plans. We learned how he and his organization are helping to rebuild Afghanistan one school at a time. We learn that for the most part, they do not hate Americans like we are told all the time. We learn that people just want to live and take care of their families in any way they can.

I recommend this book to anyone that cares about humanity. It is time to look past labels and take care of each other.

View all my reviews

